Keeneland Represented on Hall of Fame Ballot

You are here

LEXINGTON, KY (March 7, 2014) – Keeneland stakes-winning horses and horsemen are included among the 10 finalists on the National Museum of Racing’s 2014 Hall of Fame ballot that were announced today.

Nominated jockeys Chris Antley, Garrett Gomez, Craig Perret and Alex Solis all are stakes-winning riders at Keeneland.

Antley, who died in 2000, won four stakes here, including the 1991 Blue Grass (G2) on future Kentucky Derby (G1) winner Strike the Gold.

Gomez, the leading rider of the 2010 Spring Meet, has 23 stakes wins here, including the 2006 Toyota Blue Grass (G1) on Sinister Minister.

Perret rode six winners here on April 18, 1990. His 32 stakes wins at Keeneland include the 1976 Spinster (G1) on Optimistic Gal and 1992 Ashland (G1) on Prospectors Delight. Perret rode 245 winners at the track.

Solis’ four stakes wins at Keeneland include two Grade 1 races: 1997 Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup on Ryafan and 2012 Maker’s 46 Mile on Data Link.

Nominated racehorses include Xtra Heat, who won the 2001 Stonerside Beaumont (G2) and 2002 Phoenix Breeders’ Cup (G3). Two others are alumni of Keeneland sales: Ashado, a graduate of the 2002 Keeneland September Yearling Sale who sold for $9 million at the 2005 November Breeding Stock Sale, and Curlin, who sold at the 2005 September Sale.

Both nominated trainers, Steve Asmussen and Gary Jones, are Keeneland stakes winners. Asmussen’s five stakes victories include the 2004 Coolmore Lexington (G2) with Quintons Gold Rush. Jones won the 1987 Fayette (G2) with Good Command.

Results of voting to determine the 2014 inductees will be announced on April 25. The induction ceremony will take place in Saratoga Springs, N.Y., on Aug. 8. For more information, visit



Keeneland Association, Inc. 4201 Versailles Road
Lexington, Kentucky 40510
Telephone: (859) 254-3412 Toll Free: (800) 456-3412 Fax: (859) 255-2484

©1999-2015 Keeneland Association, Inc. All Rights Reserved