Featured News

From the Keeneland Sales Vault: Preakness Stakes

May 18, 2017

Journey back in the Keeneland Sales vault to past winners of the Preakness S. (G1). Keeneland Sales has produced 22 Preakness winners, including last year's winner, Exaggerator, and three consecutive winners from 2011–2013: Shackleford, Kentucky Derby winner I'll Have Another and Oxbow.


1971: Canonero II

A $1,200 purchase at the 1969 Keeneland September Yearling Sale, Canonero II won both the 1971 Kentucky Derby and Preakness en route to Champion 3-Year-Old Colt honors.


1979: Spectacular Bid

This Hall of Famer cruised to victory in the first two legs of the 1979 Triple Crown. A four-time Eclipse Award winner, including 1980 Horse of the Year, Spectacular Bid was a graduate of the 1977 Keeneland September Yearling Sale


2007: Curlin

Selling for $57,000 as a yearling at the Keeneland September Sale, this Hall of Famer edged Kentucky Derby winner Street Sense by a nose to win the 2007 Preakness. He was honored as Horse of the Year in both 2007 and 2008.


2011–2013: Shackleford, I'll Have Another, Oxbow

Keeneland September Sale graduates swept three consecutive editions of the Preakness from 2011 through 2013, beginning with Shackleford in 2011. In 2012 I'll Have Another impressed in both the Kentucky Derby and Preakness. Oxbow rounded out the three-peat in 2013, delivering an unprecendented sixth Preakness win to trainer D. Wayne Lukas.

Shackleford wins the 2011 Preakness S. (G1)
I'll Have Another wins the 2012 Preakness S. (G1)
Oxbow wins the 2013 Preakness S. (G1)

2016: Exaggerator

A game second in the 2016 Kentucky Derby, Exaggerator turned the tables on fellow Keeneland September Sale graduate Nyquist in the second leg of the Triple Crown.

Year after year, no other sale leads to more success on racing's biggest stages than Keeneland September. Learn more about the 2017 Keeneland September Yearling Sale, Sept. 11-23, at september.keeneland.com.