Featured News


October 24, 2017

LEXINGTON, KY (Oct. 24, 2017) – Keeneland welcomed 2,282 college students last Friday for College Scholarship Day, one of the track’s most popular promotions. College students received free general admission with a valid student ID and a chance to win one of 10 college scholarships awarded after each of the day’s races.

Keeneland hosts College Scholarship Day in partnership with the Kentucky Thoroughbred Association. Since it began in October 2002, the program has distributed more than $300,000 here.

Scholarship winners are Nick Kulaga of Asbury University; Allyson Ison of Bluegrass Community and Technical College; Angela Curley and Corbin Jeffries of Eastern Kentucky University; Dustin Haraway of Georgetown College; Cooper Theobald of Transylvania University; Robert Palmer Purcell, Destiny Schroeder, Lauren Slivka and Anna von Schmeling of the University of Kentucky.

Also awarded that day was the $10,000 Runhappy Scholarship, won by UK student Mary Kate Montray.